瑜伽先生的答覆

問題:為什麼有些靈性道路說你不需要遵循特定的飲食規定,其他的道路卻制定了嚴格的指示?

答覆:

一個簡單的答覆是,不是所有的道路都是正確的。在哲學、宗教和靈性的領域?,有這麼多的人制定了如此多的教義和觀念。這些主張時常是矛盾,其中有一些則完全是錯誤。

不過,還有另一個方法可以看各種靈性信息與靈修的分歧。許多導師出現在歷史演進期間,都必定會給予適合他們那個時空的教義。例如,七千年前的薩達希瓦(Sadashiva)是第一位把密宗瑜伽的鍛鍊予以系統化的上師。他強調靈性鍛鍊,並且給予詳細的靜坐指示。不過他沒有提出任何的哲學系統,因為當時還不是適當時機,他覺得哲學將只會使人們產生困惑。事實上,他沒有詳述哲學主題並不意謂靈性道路上沒有哲學的一席之地,但如果我們瞭解薩達希瓦所教導的脈絡,那麼就會清楚為什麼他沒有給予它重要性。

同樣地,喬達摩佛陀(Gautama Buddha)沒有提及任何有關上帝之事。雖然有些人會說他沒有談到上帝是因為他不相信上帝的存在,但也有可能他的方法是有其原因。在佛陀之前或他在世期間,宗教領袖們以上帝和宗教之名剝削人們。佛陀想要與此趨勢徹底斷決而不推測上帝的本質。誠然,他強調道德並且教導人們如何透過靜坐自我期許能夠發現什麼是最終的真實。我們應該瞭解佛陀避免推測或談論上帝的本質是由於他當時所處的歷史和社會氣氛。

說到飲食及其規定,特定教義出現的那個時空也在其中扮演重要角色。所以問題是,如果這個主題有這麼多不同的觀念,吾人要如何是好呢?阿南達瑪迦創始人雪莉‧雪莉‧阿南達慕提以古詩句來說明雖然知識份子提出這麼多分歧的觀念,但靈修者不應該被困惑而應該是實際的。他建議吾人應該尋找一位了悟者並且遵循那個了悟者的指點。

關於飲食,實用方法是非常重要的。如果你攝取難以消化的食物,飯後又立即試著做靜坐,你將發現食物真的會影響你的靈性鍛鍊。你可以做些實驗,看看哪些食物會對你有影響哪些不會。或者,如果你確信飲食規定對你有幫助,那麼檢驗瑜伽行者對這主題的看法,然後再做一個實驗,看看他們的建議是否對你有益。

Diet

Question: Why do some spiritual paths say that you do not have to follow specific rules about diet, whereas other paths lay down precise guidelines?

Answer:

A simple answer is that not all paths are correct about everything. In the world of philosophy, religion and spirituality there are so many people laying down so many doctrines and ideas. Often these claims are contradictory, and some of them are just plain wrong.

But there is also another way to look at the differences in various spiritual messages and practices. The various teachers who came along during the course of human history had to give a teaching that was appropriate for the particular time and place in which they lived. For example, Sadashiva, the guru who was the first teacher to systematize the practices of tantra yoga, lived 7000 years ago. His emphasis was on spiritual practice and he gave detailed instructions regarding meditation. However, he did not present any philosophical system, because the time was not right for it and he felt that philosophy would just confuse people. The fact that he did not expound on philosophical subjects does not mean that there is no place for philosophy on the spiritual path, but if we understand the context in which Sadashiva taught, then it is clear why he did not give it importance.

Similarly, Gautama Buddha did not say anything about God. While some will say that he did not talk about God because he did not believe in the existence of God, it is also possible to see another reason for his approach.  In the period prior to and during Buddha‘s time religious leaders exploited people in the name of God and religion. Buddha wanted to make a sharp break with this trend and didn’t speculate about the nature of God. Rather, he emphasized morality and taught people how to meditate with the expectation that they would find out for themselves, through meditation, what is the ultimate reality.  Buddha’s avoidance of speculation or talk about the nature of God should be understood in the historical and social climate in which he lived.

Likewise when it comes to diet and dietary “dos and don’ts”, the time and place where a particular doctrine originated has a role to play. So, the question is, if there are so many different ideas on this subject, what should a person do? Quoting an ancient verse, Shrii Shrii Anandamurti, the founder of Ananda Marga, explained that though intellectuals may present so many divergent ideas, a spiritual aspirant should not get confused but should be practical. He advised that one should find a realized person, and follow the advice of that person.

With regard to diet, a practical approach is very important.  If you eat a heavy meal and then immediately after the meal try to meditate you will see that eating does have an effect on your spiritual practices. You can make experiments to see what works and what doesn’t work for you. Alternatively, if you are convinced that dietary guidelines will be helpful for you, then examine what yogis have said about the subject and then once again make an experiment and see if their recommendations are helpful or not.

Read more questions and answers…