瑜伽先生的答覆

問題:斷食有什麼好處?可持續多久?

答覆:

斷食是長壽的祕訣之一。你的身體,尤其是消化器官,需要日以繼夜不停運作。你知道在工作或放學之後,有時需要休息。同樣地,你的消化系統有時也需要休息。

定期斷食能讓消化系統休息。你可能飲食過度、吃錯食物或在錯誤時間?吃東西,斷食能讓你的消化系統恢復正常。

斷食還提供機會把許多毒素排出體外。斷食之後,你應該喝些加少許鹽巴的檸檬水。這有助於清潔消化系統。如果你沒有斷食,廢物可能殘留體內,加有少許鹽巴的檸檬水可將這些廢物排出體外。

斷食也有助於你保持心靈平衡,儘管月球引力對身體體液有影響。這就是為什麼我們的斷食系統所安排的時間與月球引力有關。新月和滿月後的第11天是月球引力非常強的時候。如果你在這段期間斷食的話,受月球引力上升的體液會因空腹而往下流動。

最後,斷食也會給你機會節省一些時間,讓你利用那些時間來從事靈性追求。為了吃東西,你可能得花時間購物、烹飪、清洗,當然還包括進食。如果你斷食的話,你可以利用那些時間來做靜坐、閱讀或其它一些有價值的追求。

此瑜伽斷食系統的持續時間是從日出到隔天日出。你可以在斷食第一天的日出時分開始不吃任何東西。如果你的身體強壯,你也可以不喝任何東西。隔天,如上所述,你可以喝檸檬水結束斷食,然後吃些水果以及其它適合的食物。

有些人認為斷食很困難。如果你對斷食做好準備的話,它並不困難。在斷食前一天,你可以攝取足夠的食物和液體讓身體做好準備。斷食前一晚,心理也決定做好準備:「明天是斷食日,我將不吃任何東西。」如果你在斷食日之前採取這樣的心理決定,那麼你在斷食期間將不會感到饑餓。如果你沒有先做這樣的決定,你在斷食期間會開始想著「也許我應該吃些東西,改天再斷食吧!」事先做決定,那麼你將能夠完成你的斷食。

總的說來,斷食是維持身體、心理和靈性健康的最佳鍛鍊之一。我極力向你推薦它。

Fasting

Question: What’s so good about fasting? How long does it last?

Answer:

Fasting is one of the secrets of long life. Your body, and your digestive organs in particular, are required to work and work without any vacation. You know that you require rest from your work or your school from time to time. In the same way, your digestive system needs a rest from time to time.

Periodic fasting provides the rest for your digestive system. It allows your digestive system to recuperate from the rough treatment that you may have given it by overeating or eating the wrong foods or eating at the wrong time.

In addition fasting also provides an opportunity to eliminate many toxins from your body. After fasting, you should take some lemon water with a bit of salt. This drink helps to flush the digestive system, eliminating waste material that might otherwise remain in the body if you didn’t fast.

Fasting also helps you to keep a balanced mind in spite of the attraction of the moon on the fluids of your body. That is why our fasting system is timed in relation to the moon. The eleventh day after the new and full moons is the time when this attraction is very strong. If you fast during this period, then the emptiness of the stomach pulls down liquids that would otherwise rise up in your body under the attraction of the moon.

Finally fasting also gives you a chance to save some time and use that time for spiritual pursuits. In order to eat, you may have to spend time shopping, cooking, cleaning and of course eating. If you fast, you can use that time to do meditation, to read or some other valuable pursuit.

This system of yogic fasting has a duration from sunrise to sunrise. You begin at sunrise on the fasting day and eat nothing. If your body is strong you can also refrain from drinking anything. On the next day, you can break the fast with lemon water, as I have mentioned above, and then with fruit and other suitable food.

Some people think that fasting is difficult. If you prepare yourself for fasting it is not difficult. Prepare yourself physically by taking enough food and also plenty of liquids the day before. Prepare yourself mentally by deciding the night before fasting: “Tomorrow is fasting day, and I am not going to eat anything.” If you take this mental determination prior to the fasting day, you will not be hungry during the fasting day. If you don’t make a prior determination, during the fasting day you will start to think “Maybe I should eat, and fast another day!” Decide beforehand and you will be able to complete your fast.

All in all, fasting is one of the best practices for maintaining physical, mental and spiritual health. I highly recommend it.

Read more questions and answers…