瑜伽先生的答覆

問題: 我可以坐在椅子上做靜坐嗎?或者我必須學習如何在地板上盤腿做靜坐?

答覆:

只要椅背是直的,那麼就可以在椅子上做靜坐。有時當你搭長途火車、飛機或公車,這是唯一可利用的選擇。不過在椅子上做靜坐有一些缺點,而學習如何在地板上盤腿做靜坐有許多的好處。

在椅子上做靜坐的缺點之一是,你的背部會接觸到椅背。這會讓你的執著從物質世界中收攝回來更加困難。在靜坐的第一階段?,你應該想像你是獨自一人且周遭空無一物。如果你整個背部都接觸到椅背,那麼要將注意力從世俗中收攝回來會花更長的時間。另一方面,如果你坐在地板上,接觸地面的身體表面面積會更少,那麼收攝就更加容易。

關於從物質環境中收攝回來的問題,這也就是為什麼靜坐的典型瑜伽姿勢都是坐在地板上而不是坐在椅子上。當雙腿以蓮花式、半蓮花式或完美式交叉盤坐時,身體的下半部會因此放輕鬆。雙手交叉置於腿上也有助於放鬆和收攝的過程。接著,如果你靜靜坐著並且保持背部挺直,你的靜坐可以做的很好。

大多數人的問題是,他們不習慣坐在地板上而且很快會覺得姿勢令人不舒服。或許讓你的背部保持挺直很困難。你的膝蓋可能會疼痛,腳甚至會麻木。可能會變得很痛,結果非但沒有專注於梵咒,心裡反而詛咒瑜伽行者要你用這樣不舒服的姿勢做二十五分鐘靜坐。在這種情況下,你應如何是好?改坐在舒適的椅子上嗎?我會建議你堅持學習如何坐在地板上。雖然剛開始的時候會比較不舒服,但之後將有助於你進入更深沉的靜坐狀態。事實上,在做靜坐的前幾個月裡,如果你完成的唯一一件事就是學習如何靜靜地坐在地板上三十分鐘,那麼你在靈性生活中已邁進一大步。

我可以再補充一件事,有一些柔軟操可以幫助你學習如何坐得更舒適。請光臨離你最近的阿南達瑪迦中心,請指導員教你怎麼做。

Meditate

Question: Can I meditate in a chair, or must I learn how to meditate sitting on the  floor with legs crossed?

Answer:

It is possible to meditate in a chair, as long as it is a straight-backed chair, and sometimes, when you are traveling for a long period in a train, plane or bus, it is the only option available. However, there are drawbacks to meditating in a chair and at the same time there are many advantages to learning how to meditate sitting on the floor.

One of the drawbacks to meditating in a chair is that your back is touching the chair’s back. This makes it more difficult to withdraw your attachment from the physical world. During the first part of meditation you should imagine that you are alone and that there is nothing around you. If the whole length of your back is touching the chair, then this effort to withdraw your attention away from the world  takes a longer time. On the other hand, if you are sitting on the floor the surface area of your body touching the earth is much less and withdrawal is much easier.

The whole issue of withdrawal from the physical surroundings is also the reason why the classic yoga postures for meditation all involve sitting on the floor and not in a chair. When the legs are folded and crossed, as they are in the lotus posture, half lotus or adept’s pose (siddhasana), the lower part of the body rests. The folding of the hands in the lap also contributes to this process of rest and withdrawal. If you then sit quietly and keep your back erect, you can perform the meditation exercise nicely.

The problem for most people is that they are not in the habit of sitting on the floor and the position quickly becomes uncomfortable. It may be difficult to keep your back straight. Your knees may hurt, your foot may even fall asleep.  It may become so painful that instead of thinking about the mantra, you end up mentally cursing the yogi who told you to sit for 25 minutes in such an uncomfortable position. So, what should you do in this case, retire to the comfort of a chair? I would suggest that you persist in learning how to sit on the floor. While it may be more uncomfortable in the beginning, later it will help you to reach deeper states of meditation. In fact, if, in the first few months of meditation, the only thing you accomplish is to learn how to sit quietly on the floor for 30 minutes, then you have made a good step forward in your spiritual life.

One more thing I can add is that there are some limbering exercises that can help you to learn how to sit more comfortably. Visit your nearest Ananda Marga Center and ask an instructor to show them to you.

Read more questions and answers…