瑜伽先生的答覆

問題:我以前吃素,後來放棄了。我想再開始吃素,你能幫助我嗎?(還有,我應該餵養孩子何種食物呢?)

答覆:

儘管我是善意,但為什麼你可能無法放棄肉食是有一些原因的。讓我們一個個來討論它們:

如果肉類是唯一可取得的食物來源,但事實上這只適用於極端氣候的地區,諸如非常寒冷的地區像是北極區,或非常炎熱如沙漠般的地區。所以,例如北極的因紐特人為了生存可能得吃肉,但對我們大多數人而言,素食食物沒有無法取得的問題。

你可能覺得不吃肉會缺少蛋白質或必需的維生素和礦物質。從營養上來說,當然現在越來越廣為人知這並非如此。攝取均衡的水果、蔬菜、穀類、豆類、乳製品、堅果和種子等素食飲食,你可以獲得足夠的蛋白質和其它必需的營養物。嚴格的素食飲食(不含乳製品)也是能滿足需要的,只要你攝取足夠蛋白質豐富的全穀類、豆類、堅果和種子。無論如何,你的身體會「告訴」你需要吃什麼。如果你對任何一種食物有特別的渴望,這可能意謂你需要它所提供的營養-所以深信你的身體給了這自然的信號。

由於你個人的偏愛,你可能喜歡肉類的味道或質感,或者認為素食比較淡而無味或不紮實。如果你真的這麼覺得,但仍然想吃素,那就嘗試使用代替肉類的大豆如豆塊,以及其它看起來吃起來像肉類的豆製品和麵筋。例如,素雞、素鴨、素肉等等。有些地方甚至把它們做得看起來像是肉類,例如素雞腿!要嚐到素食佳餚,就要學習素食烹飪。有許多烹飪美味素食的方式。例如,蕃茄肉醬義大利麵用豆餡來取代真正的碎肉,幾乎和原來的肉醬沒什麼區別。

瑜伽食物系統不包括洋蔥和大蒜(因為它們對心靈會產生遲鈍的影響),但你可以使用印度的一種根莖叫做阿魏(hing;asafetida)的粉末來提味。在蔬菜入鍋之前,先用少許植物油把阿魏粉爆香。如果連同切得很細的甘藍菜一起爆香,味道會更像洋蔥。當然,你還可以用無窮的創造力來使用其它的藥草和香料諸如薑黃、薑、紅辣椒等等,增添食物的香味。

不論是食物或是別的事,你交往的朋友也是很重要。如果你一直和竊賊在一起,你也會變成竊賊。這是真的!所以當你想去吃素食,和其他素食者一起用餐是很重要的。除了能夠分享食譜和其它有用資訊之外,這會激勵你忠於素食飲食,使你更方便這麼做。例如,如果你和其他素食者住在一起,你可以合資分享購物和烹飪。因此,你交往的朋友是非常重要的。

如果你吃肉已有一段長時間,你的消化系統很可能殘留毒素和部分消化過的肉粒。所以在吃素之前,先清潔消化系統是個不錯的主意。這會提高消化過程的效率,讓你吸收到食物中所有的必需營養和生命能。這也意謂著少量就能讓你感到滿足,沒有吃肉時的膨脹和不消化的感覺。當然,吃素還有其它許多健康好處,不過我們現在不談論這些。素食飲食對心靈、身體、動物和環境而言比較好-說這一句話就夠了!

有各種方法可以清潔你的消化系統,包括水果斷食或檸檬水斷食,不過或許最好的方法是養成每隔二週做一天斷食的習慣。這會讓你的器官獲得休息,讓你的整個系統獲得清潔和排毒。

關於兒童,不要讓他們吃肉,至少在五歲以前,這尤其很重要。直到五歲,對他們來說最好的食物是牛奶、水果和根莖類。五歲以後,你可以把糖、澱粉和脂肪物質加入他們的飲食。應該著重於鹼性食物(水果、清淡蔬菜、牛奶等等)而不是酸性食物、澱粉類、加工食品、甜食。偶而給兒童喝石灰水(礦物石灰)也是不錯的,當然還包括充足的新鮮空氣和陽光。

Going Vegetarian

Question: I was a vegetarian, but gave it up. I would like to begin again. Can you help me? Also, what kind of food should I feed a child?

Answer:

There are a number of reasons why – despite good intentions – you may not be able to give up eating meat. Let’s go through them one by one:

If meat is the only available food source, but this only really applies in places of extreme climate, such as very cold places like the Arctic regions, or very hot and desert-like areas. So, for example, the Inuit people of the Arctic may have to eat meat to survive, but for the majority of us the non-availability of vegetarian food is not an issue.

You may have the impression that by not eating meat you would be lacking in protein, or essential vitamins and minerals. Nutritionally speaking, of course, it’s increasingly well known these days that that just isn’t so. You can get more than enough protein and other essential nutrients by eating a balanced vegetarian diet of fruits, vegetables, grains, legumes, dairy products, nuts and seeds. A vegan diet (without dairy products) is also adequate, as long as you eat enough protein-rich whole-grains, legumes, nuts and seeds. In any case, your body will “tell” you what you need to eat. If you have a particular craving for any type of food, it may mean that you need the nutrients that it supplies – so trust the natural signals your body gives to you.

Due to your personal preference, you may like the taste or texture of meat, and/or think vegetarian food is bland or unsubstantial in comparison. If you do feel like this but you still want to go veg, try using soy meat-substitutes like soy chunks, as well as other soy and gluten products that look and taste like meat. For example, mock chicken, duck, pork, etc. In some places they even make it look like meat as well, with drumsticks of “chicken” for example! Learn vegetarian recipes that actually taste good. There are plenty of ways of cooking vegetarian food in a tasty way. For example, spaghetti bolognaise cooked with soy mince instead of real mince is practically indistinguishable from the original.

The yogic system of food excludes onion and garlic (because of their dulling effect on the mind), but you can make up for their taste by using a powder called hing (asafetida), which is made from a root found in India. Just fry it in a bit of cooking oil before throwing in the vegetables. If you fry it with finely chopped cabbage it gives an extra onion-like taste. Of course there are other herbs and spices such as turmeric, ginger, chili, etc, that you can use in an endless number of creative ways to spice up your meals.

Whether it’s food or anything else, the company you keep is also very important. If you keep the company of thieves you will become a thief. It’s true! So when you want to go veg, it’s important that you eat with other vegetarians. Apart from being able to share recipes and other helpful information, it will keep you inspired to stick to the vegetarian diet and make it more convenient for you to do so. For example, if you live with other vegetarians, you can pool your resources and share the shopping and cooking. So the company you keep is very important.

If you’ve been eating meat for a long time, your digestive system will most probably have become clogged up with all the toxins and other particles of partially digested meat. So it’s a good idea to clean your system before you go vegetarian. That will increase the efficiency of the digestive process, and allow you to absorb all the essential nutrients and vital energy of your food. It also means you’ll feel satisfied on less, without the bloated feeling and indigestion of eating meat. Of course there are many other health benefits to eating vegetarian food, but we won’t go into all of them now. Suffice it to say that a vegetarian diet is better for the mind, body, animals, and the environment!

There are various ways of cleaning your digestive system, including going on a fruit and/or lemon-water fast, but perhaps the best way is to get into the habit of doing a regular one-day fast every two weeks. That will give your organs a well-earned rest as well as cleaning and detoxifying your whole system.

Regarding children, it’s especially important that children are not introduced to meat, at least before the age of five. Up to this age the best food for them is milk, fruits and roots. After five you can introduce sugar, starch and fatty substances into their diet. The emphasis should be on alkaline food (fruits, lightly cooked vegetables, milk, etc) as opposed to acidic, starchy, processed, sugary foods. It’s also good to give children lime-water (mineral lime) on occasions, and of course plenty of fresh air and sunshine.

Read more questions and answers…