向Dada Rudreshvarananda致敬

2006年5月27日星期六晚上,Dada Rudreshvarananda正和一名乘客搭乘小型飛機從布基那法索國(Burkina Faso)北部前往瓦加杜古(Ouagadougou)。雖然他已連絡瓦加杜古飛機場塔台要求允許降落,但他的飛機卻未成功登陸,而在瓦加杜古北部靠近孔古西市(Kongoussi)約80公里處不幸墜毀。

達達吉(Dadaji)於1949年出生於法國。1975年在寮國加入阿南達瑪迦,並於1976年夏天在瑞士訓練中心完成了阿南達瑪迦的出家師父和全日工作者之訓練。

他的第一個派駐地點是在非洲。他被告知他可以任選一個他想要被派駐的國家。於是他決定前往西非,或許是因為象牙海岸的人民會說法語,所以認為在那裡工作對他來說比較容易。為了到達那裡,他當時花了一些時間從朋友和贊助者那裡籌措機票費。他也終於買到了機票。儘管他想要而且下定決心要在非洲從事服務工作,但當他抵達機場時,卻遭到拒絕入境。

再一次,他得為機票費籌措。錢籌夠了之後,他到航空公司辦公室想買一張到非洲的機票。他們問他要到哪一個國家。這一次他就回答說到哪裡都可以。於是他們就給他一張前往剛果(Congo)的機票,而當他抵達那裡時一切都進行地很順利。他一走出機場,就把護照扔掉。他在非洲,那是他將停留和工作的地方。他的念頭是決定留在非洲,儘管他知道必然會在那裡遇到不可避免的艱難和危險。

他是拓荒者-是阿南達瑪迦在非洲許多最貧窮國家的第一個代表。在他身為阿南達瑪迦出家師父的30年期間,有20多年的時間是在剛果、衣索比亞(Ethiopia)、索馬利亞(Somalia)以及最後貢獻他一切的布基那法索國。

1985年的衣索比亞饑荒引起世界對非洲的關注,當他完成那裡的服務之後,他和非洲阿南達瑪迦泛宇救難隊決定投入社區發展工作。他們選擇了非洲當時最貧窮的國家布基那法索國。沒有任何的連絡,他就前往瓦加杜古。為了提供泛宇救難隊的服務,他和團隊到布基那法索國衛生部門。官員們向他們解釋說,烏達蘭(Oudalan)省東北部是最需要援助的地方並且建議泛宇救難隊在迪歐市(Deou)協助蓋醫院。

迪歐市的醫院建築是達達在布基那法索國帶領的第一個長期發展計劃。在接下的13年,達達獲得了烏達蘭省最偏遠地區整個部族的尊敬和愛戴,他在那裡實施的一連串計劃包括了造井建設、穀物銀行、合作社、社區花園、識字教育、造林、道路建設、合作社、衛生保健訓練以及最近的安全的母職與助產術計劃。他也在布基那法索國南部的Bisseri村建立了阿南達瑪迦示範村。

1999年,達達被調往美國。他仍然把服務窮人的計劃列為優先,在洛杉磯中南部開始守望相助計劃以及食物銀行。2004年,當他在布基那法索國短暫停留時,再次受到村民們的熱烈歡迎,他深切瞭解到他的心是在布基那法索國,所以又被調回烏達蘭省的沙漠區。

泛宇救難隊從2002年就與布基那法索國衛生部門合作,透過村里衛生保健人員訓練和安全的母職與助產術計劃,提供基層衛生保健給偏遠地區村民。達達把所有的精力都投入於把這個計劃擴大到另一個層級。他也為迪歐市醫院安排了一輛救護車。但是泛宇救難隊六年多以前最後贈與的救護車已被沙漠盜賊給竊走。它是偏遠地區把重症患者送到醫院的救命工具。

在2005年布基那法索國和尼日爾(Niger)的薩赫勒地區(Sahel)饑荒之後,達達重新開始為食物保障提供穀物銀行。2006年,雨季氾濫又再次以饑荒威脅這個地區。

達達在布基那法索國花了長達15年的時間,把精力集中在烏達蘭省偏遠的沙漠社區,並且在迪歐市設立其總部。達達在這個地區對社區有著很深的影響。他愛並且尊敬那裡的人民,而他也受到整個地區的許多村民之愛戴。

在追悼他為迪歐市所做的服務時,人們對達達所表達的情感是如此深厚。社區的每一個部門都派出代表。第一批是來自清真寺的代表團,達達在世時總是和他們分享著靈性上的團結和忠實的感覺。合作社協會、婦女合作社(由達達協助成立)、酋長和隨行人員、當地政府、所有的公務員包括軍人、海關人員、警察、教育家和農業專家等等,都派出代表前來弔唁並表達他們對達達的情感。甚至連迪歐市的天主教教徒都前來弔唁。人數最多的代表團是來自衛生部門,迪歐市、Gandafabou和Boulekessi的醫療中心都派出主管和職員,以及泛宇救難隊過去四年來所訓練出來的村里衛生保健人員和助產士。另外二位來自馬利(Mali)邊境Fadar Fadar區的助產士也在隔天抵達。為了表達對達達的敬意,她們徒步走了二天的路程。其它許多村里的小型代表團由二、三位組成,代表他們的社區前來弔唁。
鄰近的許多婦女們也組隊前來。許多人都分享著達達的故事,例如提供醫療幫助他們、挽救他們的孩子之性命、協助省立醫院籌措醫療用品、急診和安排疏散等故事。有一位長者由於達達協助造井而令他深受感動。他說當他失去視力時,達達還從美國寄來手術費。他說:「如果愛能夠挽救一個人的生命,達達將永遠活著,因為他有這麼多的愛。」當他聽見達達發生事故的消息時,他感到極度絕望,甚至無法開口和家人說話。許多的父母也述說了達達為80位貧童支付學費讓他們得以繼續就學的故事。由於這個地區是世界上文盲比率最高的地區之一,因此教育是非常的珍貴。

達達是阿南達瑪迦的一位偉大人格,在偏遠地區開創服務工作,並且為了真正的社區發展,與基層的窮人和受到忽視的人們一起工作。他的過逝讓人們深感婉惜。瓦加杜古的領先日報Le Pays在達達過逝後,特別刊登了他的照片和訃告。新聞的標題寫著:「深愛布基那法索國的出家師父」。

rud5
Download Dada’s Uplifting Human Dignity in West Africa

rud1rud2rud4

Dada Rudreshvarananda

On Saturday evening, 27th May, 2006, Dada Rudreshvarananda was flying a small plane with one passenger returning from the north of Burkina Faso to Ouagadougou. He had contacted the control tower at Ouagadougou airport requesting permission to land. That plane never arrived. It had crashed about 80 km north of Ouagadougou near a town called Kongoussi.

Dada was born in France in 1949. He joined Ananda Marga in Laos in 1975 and by the summer of 1976 he had completed his training as a monk and wholetime worker of Ananda Marga in the training center in Sweden.

His first posting was in Africa. He was told he could choose any country he wanted. He decided on West Africa, perhaps Ivory Coast where they speak French, thinking that that would be easy for him to work since he was French-speaking. It took him a while in those days to collect his air ticket fare from friends and supporters to go there. Finally he managed. But when he arrived at the airport he was refused entry despite his intention and strong resolve to do service work in Africa.

Again he had to collect for his ticket. When he had enough money he went to the airlines office and told them that he wanted a ticket to Africa. They asked him for which country. This time he said that it did not matter. They issued him a ticket for Congo and everything went smoothly on his arrival. As soon as he was out of the airport he threw away his passport. He was in Africa and that was where he would stay and work. His spirit was that he was determined to stay in Africa despite the inevitable hardships and dangers he knew he would inevitably encounter there.

He was a pioneer – the first representative of Ananda Marga in many of Africa’s poorest countries. During his 30 years as a monk with Ananda Marga he spent more than 20 years in Congo, Ethiopia, Somalia and finally Burkina Faso, which was to become his legacy.

After working in the Ethiopia famine of 1985, which brought the spotlight of the world onto hunger in Africa, Dada and AMURT Africa decided to enter into community development work. They selected Burkina Faso as the poorest country in Africa at the time. He arrived in Ouagadougou with no contacts, and with his team went to the Burkina Faso department of health to offer AMURT’s services. The officials explained that the need was greatest in the north-eastern province of Oudalan, and they suggested that AMURT help construct a hospital in Deou.

The construction of the hospital in Deou was the first in a long list of development projects that Dada headed up in Burkina Faso. Over the next thirteen years Dada gained the respect and affection of the tribal population throughout the remotest regions of Oudalan province, implementing a string of projects including well-construction, cereal banks, cooperatives, communitygardens, literacy drives, reforestation, road construction, cooperatives, training of health promoters, and most recently the safe motherhood and midwifery program. He also founded the Ananda Marga master unit in southern Burkina Faso in the village of Bisseri.

In 1999 Dada was tranferred to the USA. Again he made work for the poor his priority and started neighborhood-watch programs and a food bank in south-central Los Angeles. Following a brief visit to Burkina Faso in 2004, where he was again received warmly by the villagers, he had a deep realization that his heart was in Burkina Faso and was transferred back to the desert regions of Oudalan province.

Since 2002, AMURT in Burkina Faso has cooperated with the department of health to provide primary health care to the remote villages through the training of village health promoters and the Safe Motherhood and Midwifery program. Dada put his energy into expanding this program onto another level. He also arranged an ambulance for the Deou hospital. The last ambulance, also given by AMURT, had been stolen by desert pirates more than six years before. In the remote areas, a means to bring the seriously ill to hospital saves lives.

Following the famine in the Sahel regions of Burkina Faso and Niger in 2005, Dada resumed the cereal bank program for food security. Failing rains threatened the area with famine once again in 2006.

Dada spent about 15 years in Burkina Faso in total, concentrating his energies in the remote desert communities in Oudalan province, with his headquarters in Deou. In this area Dada made a profound impact on the communities. He loved and respected the people there and in turn was known and loved throughout dozens of villages.

At the memorial service in Deou, the depth of the people’s feelings for Dada was overwhelming. Delegations came from every section of the community. The first to come was the representatives from the Mosque, with whom dada had always shared a deep feeling of spiritual unity and loyalty. The association of cooperatives, the women’s cooperative (which Dada had helped to start), the traditional chief and his entourage, the local government, all the civil servants, including army, customs, police, education, agriculture etc., sent their representatives to offer their condolences and speak about their feelings for Dada. Even the Catholic church, whose members in Deou can be counted on one hand, came to express their sympathies. The biggest contingent was from the health sector, represented by in-charges and staff from the medical centers in Deou, Gandafabou and Boulekessi, and all the village health promoters and village midwives that AMURT has trained over the last four years. Two midwives from Fadar Fadar, up near the Mali border, arrived the following day. They had journeyed on foot for two days to give their respects to Dada. Small delegations of two or three from many villages came to represent their communities.

Dozens of neighborhood women joined together and came as a group. Many told their stories about how Dada had helped them with medicines and saved the lives of their children, arranging medicines and sometimes emergency treatment and evacuation to the provincial hospital. An older man, who with Dada’s help had been trained to construct wells, was deeply moved. He told the story of how he was losing his sight and Dada had sent funds from the US for his operation. He said, “If love could save a person from death, Dada would live forever because he had so much love.” He told how he had felt desperate upon hearing the news of Dada’s accident, unable to even speak to his family. Many parents told of how Dada had paid for 80 poor school children to advance to the next class. In this area, with one of the highest illiteracy rates in the world, education is very precious.

Dada was a great personality in Ananda Marga; pioneering service work in remote areas and working with the poor and neglected on a grassroots level for true community development. His absence will be deeply felt. Le Pays, the leading daily newspaper in Ouagadougou, published Dada’s photo and obituary after his death. The headline read, “The Monk that Loved Burkina”.

rud5
Download Dada’s Uplifting Human Dignity in West Africa

emailHave you got what it takes?
Contact us to volunteer

rud1rud2rud4