心靈層次

Kosa意指「心靈層次」。除了肉體層次外(嚴格來說這並不算是一個層次),人類的心靈還有五個層次。它的自然發展是透過飲食和運動。在阿南達瑪迦的鍛鍊?,心靈的發展也可透過瑜伽體位法、勇士舞和高士基舞。

「心靈是由五個層次所組成,正如香蕉花一樣。」

 

師利‧師利‧阿南達慕提

1. 粗鈍心靈稱為意識層次。Kama意指「渴望」。它是心靈的最外層次,對感官刺激會產生喜好、厭惡以及生理反應。它是透過生理衝擊自然發展,靈修者可藉由內外在行為控制來發展意識層次。

2. 精細心靈稱為潛意識層次。Man意指「思考」,此層次透過思想、記憶和夢境給予快樂和痛苦的經歷。它是透過生理衝擊自然發展,阿南達瑪迦的靈修是藉由有著宇宙觀想的生命能控制來發展潛意識層次。

心靈的其它三個內在層次集稱為因果心靈。因果意味著這些層次與大宇宙因果意識有著最直接的聯繫,因為心靈是由它演進而來並且存在於其中。

3. 因果心靈的第一層次稱為超心理層次。它是直覺的層次,給予吾人諸如直覺性夢境、感應千里眼、感應心象和創造性內觀等能力。它是透過心理衝擊自然發展。在阿南達瑪迦的靈修?,超心理層次的發展可透過感官回收,諸如淨攝和上師奉獻。

4. 因果心靈的第二層次稱為真知層次。Vijinana意指「特別的知識」,包括心靈的許多高尚特質,諸如明辨(良知或明辨力-明辨是非的能力)以及不執著(了悟到執著於任何有限的客體是不明智的)。它是透過心理衝擊自然發展。阿南達瑪迦的專注鍛鍊可加速超心理層次的發展。

5. 因果心靈的最精細層次稱為金黃色層次(精細的因果心靈)。此處心靈的覺醒非常接近於至上意識的直接體驗。只有無知的薄紗將彼此分開。它的自然發展是透過對至上的吸引力。阿南達瑪迦的禪定可加速靈修者的金黃色層次之發展。

阿南達瑪迦的靜坐課是以平衡的方式來發展心靈的所有層次。

心靈的發展是一種衝擊和凝聚的過程。每當行為被執行,它就會在心靈上產生一種印象或潛在反應。此稱為業力-扭曲的心靈等待著表現。為了表現業力,吾人將依據業力的表現而必須遭遇到各種不同的經歷(有些是快樂的,有些則是痛苦的)。然而,不論此經歷是快樂或是痛苦的,從靈性觀點來看,它們總是合乎需要的,因為它們會促使吾人業力的耗盡-由此純淨心靈並且增強融入大宇宙的渴望。因此,阻礙和艱難在靈性道路上被視為是有益於吾人。為了靈性進步,靈性鍛鍊必須結合世俗的奮鬥,而最好的奮鬥形式就是為社會服務。

「把所學的付諸實踐比光聽許多來得更重要。
你應該把生命中所學的都付諸實踐。」

 

師利‧師利‧阿南達慕提

tantra-yoga

Realms of the Mind (Kosas)

Kosa means “layer of mind.” There are five layers of the human mind, in addition to the physical body, which – although technically not a kosa itself – is given the name Annamaya (“food”) Kosa. Its natural means of development is through diet and physical exercise. In Ananda Marga practice it is also developed through asanas, Tandava and Kaoshikii.

“The mind is composed of five layers, just like the banana flower.”

 

Shrii Shrii Anandamurti

1. The Crude Mind is called the Kamamaya Kosa. Kama means “desire.” It is this most superficial layer of mind that is responsible for attraction and aversion to sensory stimuli, and the physical reactions to those stimuli. It is developed naturally through physical clash, and for sadhakas (spiritual practitioners) by following Yama and Niyama.

2. The Subtle Mind is called the Manomaya Kosa. Man means “to think”, and it is this layer of mind which gives the experience of pleasure and pain through thought, memory and dreams. This kosa is developed naturally through physical clash, and in Ananda Marga sadhana by pranayama with cosmic ideation.

The next three deeper layers of mind are collectively known as the Causal Mind. Causal signifies that these layers are in the most direct contact with the Causal Consciousness from which the mind has evolved and within which it exists.

3. The first layer of the Causal Mind is the Atimanasa Kosa – the Supramental Mind. This is the intuitive layer, which gives the capacity for such phenomena as intuitive dreams, clairvoyance, telepathy and creative insight. Its natural means of development is through psychic clash, and in Ananda Marga sadhana by methods of pratyahara (withdrawal) such as shuddhis and Guru Puja.

4. The second layer of the Causal Mind is the Vijinanamaya Kosa, or Subliminal Mind. Vijinana means “special knowledge,” and includes many higher qualities of mind such as viveka (conscience, or discrimination – the ability to determine right from wrong) and vaeragya (non-attachment – the realization that it is unwise to be attached to any limited entity). The natural development of this kosa is through psychic clash, and its development is accelerated by the process of dharana.

5. The most subtle layer of the Causal Mind is the Hiranyamaya (“golden”) Kosa, the Subtle Causal Mind. Here the awareness of mind is very close to the direct experience of Supreme Consciousness. There is only the separation of a thin veil of ignorance. Its natural development is through attraction for the Great, and dhyana accelerates this process for sadhakas.

The lessons of Ananda Marga meditation develop all layers of the mind in a balanced manner.

The development of mind is a process of clash and cohesion. Whenever an action is performed it creates an impression, or potential reaction, in the mind. This is called samskara – the distortion of mind waiting for expression. In order to express one’s samskaras, different experiences (some pleasurable and others painful) will have to be encountered, depending on the samskaras to be expressed. But regardless of whether the experiences are pleasurable or painful, from a spiritual viewpoint they are always desirable because they facilitate the exhaustion of one’s samskaras – hence the purification of mind and consequent increased desire for cosmic merger. So obstacles and hardship are considered beneficial on the spiritual path. For the optimal progress, therefore, spiritual practice must be combined with worldly struggle, and this preferably in the form of social service.

“It is a bigger thing to put one lesson into action than to hear many.
You should put into action every lesson of your life.”

 

Shrii Shrii Anandamurti

Cosmology
Life, Death and Rebirth
Biopsychology

tantra-yoga