生死與輪迴

當一個人死亡時,會發生什麼事呢?有來世嗎?在寄宿於這個軀體之前,我們有前世嗎?當我們開始尋求瞭解我們在宇宙中的地位時,必然會質疑這些問題。阿南達瑪迦哲學有系統地回答了這些問題。但是,要瞭解這些問題的回答,必須先瞭解行為與反作用的法則。

物理領域?,有一眾所周知的法則:每一個行為都有一個對等及相反的反作用。在心理層面上,也有類似的法則在運作。例如,若甲先生毆打乙先生,乙先生或許會立刻反擊相當於甲先生第一拳的力量。若是這樣的話,甲先生會因其行為的反作用而遭受到相當於他施加於乙先生的痛苦。

如果我們要畫一個圖來代表甲先生在揮拳過程期間的心靈以及乙先生的反擊,將如下圖所示:

samskara1X點代表甲先生在毆打乙先生之前的原始心靈狀態。Y點代表他的心靈質扭曲狀態。每當有任何好的或壞的行為發生時,心靈質都會有某種程度的扭曲狀態。Z點代表甲先生的心靈回復到原始狀態的那一刻。那麼,乙先生一揮拳反擊,Z點的情況就會發生。

每當我們執行一個行為,心靈就會受到扭曲,直到我們經歷到其反作用,心靈才會回復到原始狀態,並且依據原始行為的性質感受到快樂或是痛苦。行為與反作用時常就像這樣在運作。吾人執行行為,會立即經歷到其反作用。如果時間、空間和人的因素沒有任何改變,反作用的強度就會相當於原始行為的強度。

不過,有另外一種可能。假設甲先生毆打乙先生,但反作用被延遲。乙先生並未予以反擊。然而五年後,當甲先生在陌生城市的偏僻街道上行走時,突然出現一位不明人士連續毆打甲先生。這就是當時被延遲的反作用,而甲先生所經歷到的強度比原始行為來得劇烈。在阿南達瑪迦哲學裡,心靈的扭曲持續潛伏一段時間稱為業力。業力代表潛伏的反作用。如下圖所示:

samskara2EF線代表原始行為,FG線代表隨時都可能被經歷到的潛伏之反作用(業力)。因此,明顯的意外事故只是先前行為的反作用。有時它們似乎是沒有緣由,然而那只是因為我們已忘了原始的行為。如果二個事件之間經過時間推移而且有空間或人的因素之改變,那麼反作用的強度就會比原始行為來得強烈,就像把錢存在銀行數年而獲得利息一樣。行為和反作用的法則稱為因果業報的法則。潛伏的反作用稱為業力或心靈的印記。

讓我們回到原先有關生死和可能再生的問題。現在我們更能夠瞭解死亡時會發生什麼事。依據行為和反作用的法則,我們必須經歷每一個行為的結果,誠然在每天的生活?,由先前行為引起的各種心靈印記已成熟並且表現出來,使我們經歷到快樂和痛苦。如果吾人在死亡的當下,先前所有的反作用動量(業力)都被耗盡並且未製造出新的業力,那麼心靈將會處於純淨的狀態並且融入於大宇宙意識。這種永恆融入的狀態在梵文裡稱為究竟解脫。

但事實上,要耗盡所有的業力並且在過程中未製造出新業力是極其困難的。每當我們執行一個行為且心存此念:「我正在做這個行為。」,心靈就已留下印記。因此大多數情況下,當吾人死亡時,仍有許多潛伏的反作用尚未被經歷。而吾人的心靈如下圖所示:

samskara3在此情況下,會發生什麼事呢?反作用必須被經歷,但卻不再有任何的軀體。因此,吾人需要另一個軀體,使心靈得以再生。

要瞭解再生的過程,必須先瞭解生命是什麼。依據阿南達瑪迦哲學,生命是心靈與身體之間的平行。有特定的波長與身體聯繫,也有特定的波長與心靈聯繫。正如現代物理學,瑜伽行者認為這整個宇宙是在波動?,而那些波動有著各種不同的波長。有特定的波長與我們的身體聯繫,也有特定的波長與我們的心靈聯繫。當這些波長平行時,我們就有了生命。但如果身體發生狀況,諸如意外事故或疾病,身體的波長可能會因此改變而失去平行。這種情況下,就會引起身體的死亡。

同樣地,身體可能會適當的運作,但如果心靈受到嚴重的衝擊,心理波長可能會因此改變而失去平行。此稱為心靈的死亡。例如,吾人經歷到非常可怕的事而瀕臨死亡。

另一個例子是動物與人類住在一起。和人類家庭住在一起的狗,會不斷地與更發展的人類心靈接觸。和人類家庭吃住在一起甚至一起旅行的狗,會開始經歷心靈的擴展。牠的心靈會逐漸變得愈來愈像人類的心靈。如果持續擴展,最後可能會由於牠的心理和身體之間的波長失去平行而死亡。若是這樣的話,心理波長因為與人類持續接觸而改變,結果需要一個更精細的軀體使其平行。而這將可能是一個人類的軀體。

還有另一種可能,即靈性引起的死亡。一個非常開展的靈修者,他(她)的心靈會融入於其無限波長呈一直線的大宇宙意識。如果心靈與宇宙本體的平行被延長,此人會與身體失去平行。這種情況下,他(她)會離開身體而達到究竟解脫的狀態。從毀滅的意義上說,這不是死亡,而是融入於無限至福的狀態。

在我們能完全瞭解生死與再生的過程之前,還必須檢驗另一個要素。每一個生命不僅具有軀體和心靈,還有個體意識。這目證的意識是心靈的最終目證,是「我知道我存在」的我覺之源頭。先前的章節裡,已討論過心靈的三個功能:心靈質(我已做)、我執(我做)和我覺(我存在)。此處證實心靈三個功能的存在之「我」稱為個體意識。它是不朽的個體意識,也是解開生死與再生之謎的關鍵。

當一個人死亡時,身體的生命能會進入失衡狀態而離開身體。由於失去生命能,身體停止運作。死亡時,他會失去快樂、痛苦和自我意識的感覺。雖然心靈進入「長期睡眠」,但它並未如身體般的毀壞。業力(心靈的反作用動量)存在並且被記錄在因果心靈內。個體意識仍然是不起作用的心靈之目證。

依據業力的類型,不起作用的心靈有特定的波長,宇宙中也有一適當的軀體有著與這心靈平行的波長,使心靈得以宿於新的軀體?。然後,生命才有可能經歷到過去世所獲得的潛伏反作用。

此過渡期會持續多久呢?它可能很短或長達數千年之久。重要的是,在宇宙的某個星球上必有一適當的軀體與這不起作用的無軀體心靈和靈魂之波動相配。藏傳佛教裡,靈性導師(喇嘛)一過世,弟子就會肩負起尋找他轉世為新生兒的責任。從那些似乎與已故喇嘛有著相同業力的孩童裡選出一位適當的繼承人。他們會把不同的文章放在這位孩童面前做測試,其中有些文章是那位已故喇嘛的著作。如果這位孩童能夠認出這些文章,將顯示出他可能就是那位已故喇嘛的轉世。

關於轉世,另一個常被問及的問題是,吾人是否能憶起其前幾世。直到四歲之前,吾人尚保留著前世記憶的超腦記憶。然而,如果記憶持續到四歲以後,將會發生人格分裂的情況而死亡。因此,大自然藉著不讓單一軀體發展出多重人格來保護人類。

雖然探索我們的前世是件不錯的事,但通常這麼做並無特別的心理學或靈性上的價值。誠然,通常會勸告靈修者忘記他們過去世的行為(尤其是不好的行為),而開始以新的方式來生活、專注於當下並展望更輝煌的未來。但是有時在特別的情況下,一位偉大的靈性上師可能會為了教導弟子而顯示弟子看到其過去世。

師利‧師利‧阿南達慕提描述死亡的狀態為「因果心靈的長期睡眠」,並且強調此狀態下,由於失去器官和神經,而沒有快樂和痛苦的感覺。他也解釋了這些「無軀體的」心靈因為沒有運動器官,所以它們無法去傷害人類。

至於天堂與地獄,天堂就是在這一世經歷到過去世的善行結果,而地獄就是經歷到過去世的惡行結果。永久受苦是各種宗教所宣揚的迷信概念,它們在阿南達瑪迦哲學?無立足之地。

生死與再生的循環其最終目標,就是當個體意識超越了生死與再生並且與無限的大宇宙意識合而為一的那一刻。

Life, Death and Rebirth

What happens when a person dies? Is there anything after life? Is there a previous life prior to our existence in this body? These are questions which are inevitably asked when we begin to search for an understanding of our place in the universe. Ananda Marga philosophy answers these questions systematically. However, in order to understand the response to these questions, it is necessary to understand the law of action and reaction.

In the physical realm there is a well known law: for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. In the mental sphere there is a similar law at work. For example, if Mr A hits Mr B, perhaps Mr B will respond immediately hitting Mr A with a force equal to the first punch. In this case the action was followed by an immediate reaction causing Mr A to suffer a pain equal to that which he inflicted on Mr B.

If we were to draw a diagram representing Mr A’s mind during this process of hitting and retaliation by Mr B it would be as follows:

samskara1Point X is the original state of Mr A’s mind before the action of hitting Mr B. Point Y represents the distortion of his mind’s plastic portion (citta). Every time there is any kind of action, good or bad, there is some distortion of the citta. Point Z represents the moment when Mr A’s mind returns to the original state. In this case it occurs as soon as Mr B makes his counter punch.

Whenever we make an action, our mind is distorted and when we experience the reaction, our mind returns to the original state and we feel either pleasure or pain depending on the nature of the original action. Many times, the process of action and reaction works like this. There is an action and immediately following it the person experiences the reaction. If there has been no change of time, place and person the reaction will be equal in strength to the original action.

However, there is another possibility. Suppose Mr A hits Mr B but the reaction is delayed. Mr B doesn’t respond with a punch. Five years later, however, Mr A walks down a lonely street in a strange city and an unknown man appears and hits Mr A many times. This is a reaction which was delayed and is experienced with an intensity exceeding that of the original action. This distortion of the mind which remains dormant for some time is known as samskara in Ananda Marga philosophy. A samskara represents a reaction in potential form. Diagramatically it appears as follows:

samskara2Line EF represents the original action and line FG represents the potential reaction (samskara) which can be experienced at any time. Thus, apparent accidents are simply reactions to previous actions. They sometimes appear to be without cause, but that is only because we have forgotten the original action. The reaction will be stronger than the original action if there is a passage of time between the two events and if there is a change in place or person just as a bank deposit will acquire interest if left in the bank for several years. This law of action and reaction is known popularly as the law of karma. The reactions in potential form are known as samskaras or impressions on the mind.

Returning to the original question about life, death and possible rebirth we are now in a better position to understand what happens at the time of death. According to the law of action and reaction we must experience the result of every action, and each day we are certainly experiencing pleasure and pain as the different impressions of the mind caused by previous actions become ripe and express themselves. If one were to die at a moment when all previous reactive momenta (samskaras) are exhausted and no new samskaras have been created, then the mind will be in a pure state and would merge in the cosmic consciousness. This state of permanent merger is known in Sanskrit as moksha.

In reality, however, it is very difficult to exhaust all the samskaras and not create new samskaras in the process. Whenever we perform an action with the thought, “I am doing this action” an impression is made on the mind. So in most cases when a person dies, he or she still has many reactions in potential form which have yet to be experienced. His or her mind is represented by the following diagram:

samskara3What will happen in such a case? The reactions must be experienced but there is no longer any physical body. So another body will be needed and the mind must take another birth.

In order to understand the process of rebirth it is necessary to understand what is life. According to Ananda Marga philosophy, life is a parallelism between mind and body. There is a particular wavelength associated with the body, and there is a particular wavelength associated with the mind. Just as in modern physics, the yogis have said that this entire universe is in vibration and that the vibrations are of varying wavelengths. There is a particular wavelength associated with our body and there is a particular wavelength associated with our mind. When these wavelengths are parallel we have life. However, if something happens to the physical body such as an accident or sickness, the physical wavelength may change and the parallelism may be lost. In this case we have what is known as the physical cause of death.

Similarly the body may be functioning properly, but if there is a severe shock to the mind the mental wave may change and the parallelism is lost. This is known as the psychic cause of death. An example of this is a person dying due to having experienced something very fearful.

Another example occurs when animals live with humans. A dog living with a human family is constantly in contact with the more developed human minds. The dog who lives, eats and even travels with the human family begins to undergo an expansion of mind. His mind becomes gradually more and more human-like. If the expansion continues there may eventuality be death due to a loss of parallelism between his mental and physical wavelengths. In this case the mental wavelength has changed due to the contact with human beings and will consequently require a more subtle body with which it can find parallelism. This will probably be a human body.

There is another possibility, which is known as the spiritual cause of death. In very evolved spiritual practitioners the mind will become absorbed in cosmic consciousness, which has a vibration of infinite wavelength represented as a straight line. If the mind attains prolonged parallelism with the cosmic entity, the person will lose parallelism with the physical body. In this case the person “leaves” his or her body and attains the state of moksha. It is not a death in the sense of annihilation, but merger into a state of infinite beatitude.

There is one more element that we must examine before we can fully understand the process of life, death and rebirth. In every living being there is not only a physical body and not only a mind, but also an “Atman” or unit of witnessing consciousness. This witnessing consciousness is the ultimate witness of the mind and is the source of the “I feeling” in the statement “I know that I exist.” The “I” which verifies the existence of the three functional parts of the mind is known as the Atman. It is the imperishable unit of consciousness and is the key to unlocking the mystery of life, death and rebirth.

When a person dies, the vital energy of the body (prana) enters a state of disequilibrium and leaves the body. With the loss of the vital energies, the physical body ceases to function. The formerly living person loses all sense of pleasure, pain and self-consciousness. Although the mind enters a “long sleep” at the time of death, it has not perished as the physical body has. The samskaras – reactive momenta of the mind – exist and are recorded in the causal mind. The Atman remains as the witness of this inactive mind.

According to the type of samskaras, the inactive mind has a particular wavelength and where there is a proper physical body anywhere in the universe which has a wavelength parallel to that of this mind, the mind will be reborn in this new body. The living being will then have the possibility to experience the potential reactions acquired in previous lifetimes.

How long will the interim period last? It can be very short or it can be thousands of years. The important thing is that there must be a suitable body somewhere in the cosmos which matches the vibration of the inactive disembodied mind and soul. In Tibetan Buddhism, as soon as a spiritual leader (Lama) dies, his disciples search for his reincarnation in the form of a newly born baby. A suitable successor is groomed from among those young children who seem to have the same samskaras as the former Lama. A test is given in which different articles, some of which belonged to the Lama, are placed before the children. If the child can identify these articles, it is an indication that he may be the incarnation.

Another commonly asked question regarding reincarnation is whether one can remember his or her past lives. Up to the age of four years a person has extra-cerebral memory which includes memory of the past lives. However, if this memory persisted after the age of four, then a split personality would develop and the person would die. Thus, nature protects humans by not allowing this development of multiple personalities in a single body.

Although it may be fascinating to delve into our past lives, there is usually no particular psychological or spiritual value in doing so. Rather, it is generally advisable for spiritual aspirants to forget their past deeds (especially the bad ones) and to begin a life in a fresh manner, concentrating on the present and looking ahead to a more glorious future. Sometimes, however, in special cases a great spiritual master may “show” a disciple his or her past life in order to teach some lesson to him or her.

Shrii Shrii Anandamurti describes the state of death as “the long sleep of the causal mind” and emphasizes that there is no feeling of pleasure and pain in this condition due to the loss of the organs and nerves. He also explains that these “bodiless” minds are without motor organs and that they cannot harm human beings.

As to heaven and hell, heaven is when we experience in this life the results of good actions of the past and hell is when we experience the results of past bad actions. Superstitious concepts of eternal suffering have been promoted by various religions, but they have no place in Ananda Marga philosophy.

The ultimate goal of this cycle of life and rebirth is the moment when the unit consciousness goes beyond life and rebirth and unifies with the unqualified Cosmic Consciousness.

Cosmology
Realms of the Mind (Kosas)
Biopsychology